PlanFacts · Updated 2026-10-22

Charging readers for your newsletter: where paid subscriptions start in Kit, MailerLite and GetResponse

Disclosure: Independent article; no affiliate links or sponsorship.
Draft text was prepared with AI assistance and checked against the cited official pages.

The buying question this page answers: I want readers to pay a recurring subscription for my newsletter: which of these tools lets me do that, and on which plan does it become available?

Charging for a newsletter is gated by plan, and each vendor puts that gate at a different level. Below is where paid subscriptions begin in each tool and what that plan brings with it.

Comparison

CriterionKit (formerly ConvertKit)MailerLiteGetResponse
Paid newsletter subscriptionsIncluded on Free: digital products and subscriptions (also on Creator)[1]Comfort: yes; Free: no[2]Creator plan and up only (not on Free, Starter or Marketer)[3]
Entry paid planCreator[4]Comfort[2]Starter[3]
Free plan subscriber limitUp to 10,000 email subscribers[1]Up to 250 subscribers[2]Up to 500 contacts (unconfirmed and removed contacts count)[5]
Landing pages (free / entry)Unlimited forms and landing pages (Free and Creator)[1]Free: limited to 1; Comfort: limited to 10[2]Free: 1 published landing page (1,000 unique visits/month); Starter: Unlimited[3]
Reference price39 USD
official pricing page, checked 2026-10-22[6]
12 USD
official pricing page, checked 2026-10-22[7]
19 USD
official pricing page, checked 2026-10-22[8]
Price historyPrice history not collectedPrice history not collectedPrice history not collected

Who it fits

Kit (formerly ConvertKit)
  • Writers who want to start charging before paying for software: Kit says digital products and subscriptions are included on the Free plan, and on Creator as well.[1]
MailerLite
  • Owners ready for a paid tier who want paid newsletters and recurring subscriptions on the cheapest one: both rows are marked as included on Comfort.[7]
GetResponse
  • Publishers who already intend to buy GetResponse's Creator plan, whose plan card lists premium newsletter subscriptions.[8]

When not to buy

Kit (formerly ConvertKit)
  • If every new paying reader should enter an automated onboarding sequence, note that sequences and visual automations need a paid Kit plan even though selling subscriptions does not.[1]
MailerLite
  • Not for monetising while on the free tier: MailerLite marks paid newsletters as unavailable on Free.[7]
GetResponse
  • Not for charging readers on a budget tier: premium newsletters are not offered on Free, Starter or Marketer.[8]

Key differences

General
  • The plan level where paid newsletters start differs: Kit includes them on Free, MailerLite starts them on its first paid plan, Comfort, and GetResponse reserves them for its Creator plan and above.[1][7][8]
  • Only Kit lets a free account both charge readers and keep growing, with its free tier covering up to 10,000 email subscribers; the other two do not offer paid newsletters without a paid plan.[1][7][8]

Limitations

Kit (formerly ConvertKit)
  • The Kit articles cited here do not state transaction fees or payout terms for subscription sales, so check those on Kit's own pages before counting on it for revenue.
MailerLite
  • Landing pages on Comfort are limited to 10, which matters if every paid tier or offer needs its own sales page.[7]
GetResponse
  • The price of GetResponse's Creator plan is not stated in the sources recorded for this page, so the real cost of unlocking premium newsletters there is unknown here; check the pricing page for your currency.

Sources

  1. Kit (formerly ConvertKit) — Kit Free plan ($0/month while under 10,000 subscribers) · Kit (formerly ConvertKit) · accessed 2026-10-22 · scope: Kit Free plan ($0/month while under 10,000 subscribers)
  2. MailerLite — MailerLite Free plan (sending locks above 250 active subscribers) · MailerLite · accessed 2026-10-22 · scope: MailerLite Free plan (sending locks above 250 active subscribers)
  3. GetResponse — Cheapest GetResponse paid plan (Starter, Marketer, Creator, Enterprise) · GetResponse · accessed 2026-10-22 · scope: Cheapest GetResponse paid plan (Starter, Marketer, Creator, Enterprise)
  4. Kit (formerly ConvertKit) — Cheapest Kit paid plan (paid plans: Creator, Pro) · Kit (formerly ConvertKit) · accessed 2026-10-22 · scope: Cheapest Kit paid plan (paid plans: Creator, Pro)
  5. GetResponse — GetResponse Free account (help center); the pricing page does not state the free contact limit · GetResponse · accessed 2026-10-22 · scope: GetResponse Free account (help center); the pricing page does not state the free contact limit
  6. Kit (formerly ConvertKit) — giá gói trả phí rẻ nhất (USD) · Kit (formerly ConvertKit) · accessed 2026-10-22 · scope: giá gói trả phí rẻ nhất (USD)
  7. MailerLite — giá gói trả phí rẻ nhất (USD) · MailerLite · accessed 2026-10-22 · scope: giá gói trả phí rẻ nhất (USD)
  8. GetResponse — giá gói trả phí rẻ nhất (USD) · GetResponse · accessed 2026-10-22 · scope: giá gói trả phí rẻ nhất (USD)

affops page-v1. Details can change; check the seller's page before buying.